Saracens - Storm triumphant in seven try win over Munster A

Jan 20, 2017

Storm triumphant in seven try win over Munster A

Saracens Storm ran-in seven tries to beat Munster A 47-31 in a highly entertaining evening of rugby at Allianz Park.

At the heart of a high-octane 80 minutes of rugby were half-back duo Henry Taylor and Tom Whiteley. Taylor crossed for a brace of tries whilst Whiteley was influential throughout the contest.

The Storm opened the scoring when Hayden Thompson-Stringer burrowed over from 5 metres out. It was a powerful charge from the former back-rower turned loosehead prop, as he carried over three Munster defenders to score. Tom Whiteley converted from the under the shadow of the visitors’ posts.

Next up was openside Joel Conlon, who brushed aside some poor Munster tackling to score. Munster A returned fire, when their number seven Bailey Faloon crossed for the visitors solitary score of the half.

Full-back George Perkins was next to score, collecting a fine Taylor offload to race away to score after 25 minutes. Taylor was next after he supported a fine break from Tom Whiteley to score as Saracens Storm lead 33-7 at the break.

The Storm started from the where they left off in the second half, with Taylor and Whitely once again at the heart of everything good for the Storm. The deadly duo combined once again to send over Taylor for his second try of the evening before another clever show and go from outside half Whiteley released Samu Vunisa to score.

Munster A to their credit rallied superbly. Giant prop Stephen Archer, flanker Dave O’Callaghan, replacement hooker Stephen McMahon and wing Stephen Fitzgerald all scored tries as they produced a strong second half showing.

Final Score: Saracens Storm 47 Munster A 31

Saracens Storm: 15 George Perkins; 14 Mike Ellery, 13 Rotimi Segun (De Kock 52’), 12 Matt Gallagher, 11 John Hughes (Vine 72’); 10 Tom Whiteley; 9 Henry Taylor; 1 Hayden Thompson-Stringer, 2 Jared Saunders (Alexis 41’), 3 Vincent Koch (Walker 41’); 4 Mark Flanagan, 5 Brian Tuilagi (Kpoku 56’); 6 Jack Nay, 7 Joel Conlon (Maka 45’), 8 Samu Vunisa.

Replacements: 16 Scott Spurling ,17 Viana Alexis, 18 Billy Walker, 19 Joel Kpoku, 20 Anthony Maka, 21 Neil De Kock, 22 Sean Vine


Tries: Thompson-Stringer (4’), Conlon (10’), Whiteley (16’), Perkins (25’), Taylor (32’ & 43’), Vunisa (47’)

Conversions: Whiteley (6/7)

Munster A: 15 David Johnston; 14 Greg O'Shea, 13 Shane Daly, 12 Cian Bohane (c), 11 Stephen Fitzgerald; 10 Te Aihe Toma, 9 Angus Lloyd; 1 Brian Scott, 2 Kevin O'Byrne, 3 Stephen Archer; 4 Dave Foley, 5 Darren O'Shea; 6 Dave O'Callaghan, 7 Bailey Faloon, 8 Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Vincent O'Brien, Joey Conway, Rob O'Donovan, Fineen Wycherley, John Madigan, Ronan Coffey, Steven McMahon, Alan Tynan, Colm Hogan.

Tries: Faloon (13’), Archer (45’), O’Callaghan (52’), McMahon (56’), Fitzgerald (71’)

Conversions: Johnston 1/1, Aihe Toma 2/4

Share this story