Saracens - Team News: Alex Goode and Jamie George return to face Northampton Saints

Mar 04, 2016

Team News: Alex Goode and Jamie George return to face Northampton Saints

Saracens have named their side to face Northampton Saints for Saturday’s round 14 Aviva Premiership clash at Allianz Park, kick-off 15h15.

England duo Alex Goode and Jamie George have both been included in the Saracens starting XV, with the pair returning to Premiership action after being released for Eddie Jones’ training camp earlier this week.

Full-back Alex Goode comes into the Saracens back three to join Chris Wyles (left wing) and Mike Ellery (right wing), and will be joined by Duncan Taylor and Brad Barritt in the Sarries backline. Taylor lines up at outside centre after playing for Scotland in Rome last weekend, and Barritt returns to captain the side in the number twelve jersey.

Nils Mordt comes into the team to start at fly-half to replace Charlie Hodgson who is ruled out of the game with a neck injury sustained in Saracens 36-36 draw away to Sale Sharks. Mordt is joined by Ben Spencer in the halves, reuniting the club’s 2015/16 LV=Cup winning halfback pairing for the first time this season.

Up front, Richard Barrington starts at loosehead prop in the place of Titi Lamositele who is away on international duty with the USA Eagles. Barrington is joined by Petrus Du Plessis (tighthead) and Jamie George, with the England hooker returning to Sarries action as the Six Nations takes a break over the weekend.

Elsewhere in the Sarries pack, Hayden Smith and Jim Hamilton continue to partner each other at second row, whilst Michael Rhodes (blindside flanker), Kelly Brown (openside flanker) and Jackson Wray (No8) are named as Saracens’ loose forward trio.

Saracens team to face Northampton Saints

15 Alex Goode (197*)

14 Mike Ellery (18)

13 Duncan Taylor (83)

12 Brad Barritt (c) (160)

11 Chris Wyles (196)

10 Nils Mordt (56)

9 Ben Spencer (67)

1 Richard Barrington (70)

2 Jamie George (144)

3 Petrus Du Plessis (120)

4 Hayden Smith (59)

5 Jim Hamilton (39)

6 Michael Rhodes (16)

7 Kelly Brown (123)

8 Jackson Wray (131)


16 Jared Saunders (29)

17 Hayden Thompson-Stringer (6)

18 Juan Figallo (26)

19 Alistair Hargreaves (75)

20 Jacques Burger (111)

21 Neil De Kock (246)

22 Marcelo Bosch (56)

23 Nathan Earle (4)

*denotes Saracens appearances.

Share this story