Saracens - Team News: Saracens name side for Exeter Chiefs

Jan 06, 2017

Team News: Saracens name side for Exeter Chiefs

Saracens have named their side to face Exeter Chiefs at a sold-out Allianz Park for Saturday’s Aviva Premiership round 13 clash, kick-off 15h00.

It will be an afternoon of milestones for two front-rowers as loosehead prop Richard Barrington will make his 100th appearance for Saracens with Juan Figallo bringing up a half-century of appearances for the club.

Barrington and Figallo are joined by Schalk Brits in the front-row, whilst at lock, Jim Hamilton comes into the side to partner Maro Itoje.  In the back-row, Kelly Brown starts at openside flanker with Mike Rhodes (blindside flanker) and Jackson Wray (No8) also named to start.

In the halves, Alex Lozowski comes into the side at fly-half for Owen Farrell who is rested with Richard Wigglesworth coming back into the side at scrum-half.

Brad Barritt skippers the side from inside centre alongside the in-form Marcelo Bosch in the Saracens midfield. In the backs, Sean Maitland is named on the right-wing in place of Chris Ashton who is rested after sustaining a head knock last weekend in Saracens 16-12 win over Leicester Tigers. Chris Wyles comes back into the side on the left-wing with Alex Goode continuing at full-back.

Saracens director of rugby, Mark McCall: “In recent years we have had some classic battles against the Chiefs so we need no reminding of just how strong a side they are. Exeter will certainly be in the running for a top four spot at the end of the season, so we know it will be a real test for us and we are looking forward to facing them at sold-out Allianz Park on Saturday.”

Saracens Team to face Exeter Chiefs

 15 Alex Goode (221)

14 Sean Maitland (11)

13 Marcelo Bosch (83)

12 Brad Barritt (c) (185)

11 Chris Wyles (221)

10 Alex Lozowski (15)

9 Richard Wigglesworth (170)

1 Richard Barrington (99)

2 Schalk Brits (186)

3 Juan Figallo (49)

4 Maro Itoje (65)

5 Jim Hamilton (61)

6 Michael Rhodes (43)

7 Kelly Brown (143)

8 Jackson Wray (158)


16 Jamie George (162)

17 Titi Lamositele (28)  

18 Vincent Koch (4)

19 Will Skelton (4)   

20 Schalk Burger (15)

21 Ben Spencer (89)

22 Duncan Taylor (93)

23 Nick Tompkins (48)

Share this story