Saracens - Team News: Saracens name side for HAC clash

Aug 24, 2016

Team News: Saracens name side for HAC clash

Saracens have named their side for their final preseason outing against London Scottish for Thursday’s clash at the Honourable Artillery Company in Moorgate, London (kick-off 18h15).

Schalk Burger starts at openside flanker as the Springbok legend pulls on the Saracens shirt for the first time since arriving at the club earlier this month.  Burger joins England international Billy Vunipola (No8) and Jackson Wray (blindside flanker) in the Sarries back-row.

Elsewhere in the pack, Petrus Du Plessis starts at tighthead prop, with Jamie George skippering the side. George is joined by fellow England internationals Mako Vunipola (loosehead prop), Maro Itoje (lock) and George (Kruis) in the Sarries tight five.

Ben Spencer (scrumhalf) and Alex Lozowski continue in the halves, with Duncan Taylor partnering Marcelo Bosch at centre. In the back three, England full-back Alex Goode starts alongside Chris Ashton, whilst summer signing Sean Maitland is named on the left wing.

Saracens director of rugby, Mark McCall; “We’ve enjoyed a solid preseason campaign and we’re heading into Thursday’s clash in a good position. It’s great to welcome some of our England contingent back into the fold and also, have the chance to give our new faces like Schalk Burger, Alex Lozowski and Sean Maitland some time alongside their new teammates ahead of an extremely competitive season.

“It will be a long campaign for our players this year, given the demands of the Aviva Premiership, European Champions Cup, Anglo-Welsh Cup plus the Autumn Internationals and Six Nations, so we’ll need a squad effort once again to get to where we want to be at the end of the season.

“We’ve still a few more faces to introduce. Vincent Koch (currently on international duty with South Africa) and Save Rawaca (due to arrive at the club in the next few weeks) will join up soon, so we’re looking forward to what lies ahead.”

Saracens Team to face London Scottish

15 Alex Goode

14 Chris Ashton

13 Marcelo Bosch

12 Duncan Taylor

11 Sean Maitland

10 Alex Lozowski

9 Ben Spencer

1 Mako Vunipola

2 Jamie George (c)

3 Petrus Du Plessis

4 Maro Itoje

5 George Kruis

6 Jackson Wray

7 Schalk Burger

8 Billy Vunipola


16 Schalk Brits

17 Richard Barrington

18 Juan Figallo

19 Alistair Hargreaves

20 Kelly Brown

21 Neil De Kock

22 Nick Tompkins

23 Chris Wyles

24 Samu Vunisa

25 Joel Conlon

26 Mike Ellery

27 Tim Streather

28 Matt Gallagher

Tickets will be available to purchase on the gate from £25 (cash only). Gates open at 15h00 with Lloyds RFC vs RICS RFC kicking off at 15h00 as a curtain raiser to Saracens vs London Scottish.

Share this story