Saracens - Team News: Saracens name team for Aviva Prem Final

May 27, 2016

Team News: Saracens name team for Aviva Prem Final

Saracens have named their side to face Exeter Chiefs in Saturday’s Aviva Premiership final at Twickenham Stadium, kick-off 15h00.

Mark McCall has named the same side that defeated Leicester Tigers in the semi-final stages as Saracens look to secure back-to-back Premiership titles and a historic double.

Up front, Mako Vunipola will make his 100th Saracens appearance with the England prop starting alongside by Schalk Brits (hooker) and Petrus Du Plessis (tighthead prop) in the front row. In the second row, European Rugby’s Player of the Year Maro Itoje will be joined by George Kruis. Michael Rhodes continues at blindside flanker with Will Fraser (openside flanker) and Billy Vunipola (No8) also named in the Sarries back row.

At full-back, the recently crowned Premiership Player of the Year Alex Goode starts and will be joined by Chris Wyles and Saracens all-time leading try scorer Chris Ashton in the Sarries back three.

At centre Duncan Taylor will partner Captain Brad Barritt in the Saracens midfield, whilst in the halves Owen Farrell (fly-half) starts at fly-half and is joined by Richard Wigglesworth (scrum-half).

On the bench, Jamie George, Richard Barrington and Juan Figallo are the front row replacements with Jim Hamilton and Jackson Wray the other forward cover. Experienced half-back Neil De Kock is also named, whilst legendary fly-half Charlie Hodgson could make his final appearance of a record-breaking career from the bench before he retires at the end of the season. Marcelo Bosch is the three-quarter cover.

Speaking ahead of the game, Mark McCall said: “Exeter are a top side and they’ve proven that over the course of the season. It’s going to be a really good game, two very good sides, two hard-working sides going toe-to-toe and we know what is at stake. Our challenge at the start of the week was to be as prepared as we could be and we’ve had a good couple of days but what happens on Saturday is the important thing. It promises to be a great final.”

Saracens Team to face Exeter Chiefs

15 Alex Goode (208*)

14 Chris Ashton (98)

13 Duncan Taylor (91)

12 Brad Barritt (c) (170)

11 Chris Wyles (207)

10 Owen Farrell (134)

9 Richard Wigglesworth (154)

1 Mako Vunipola (99)

2 Schalk Brits (170)

3 Petrus Du Plessis (130)

4 Maro Itoje (51)

5 George Kruis (123)

6 Michael Rhodes (26)

7 Will Fraser (78)

8 Billy Vunipola (59)


16 Jamie George (148)

17 Richard Barrington (81)

18 Juan Figallo (33)

19 Jim Hamilton (47)

20 Jackson Wray (142)

21 Neil De Kock (255)

22 Charlie Hodgson (130)

23 Marcelo Bosch (66)

*denotes Saracens appearances


Share this story