Saracens - Team News: Saracens name team for Champions Cup QF

Apr 08, 2016

Team News: Saracens name team for Champions Cup QF

Saracens have named their team to face Northampton Saints in Saturday’s European Rugby Champions Cup Quarter Final at Allianz Park, kick-off 17h45.

Playing in their fifth successive European Quarter Final, Saracens welcome back Chris Wyles into the starting XV who comes into the side on the left wing. Wyles joins Chris Ashton (right wing) and Alex Goode in the Saracens back-three.

At centre, Brad Barritt will lead out Saracens as captain in the club’s first ever European knock-out game at Allianz Park, and will be partnered by Duncan Taylor in midfield.

Owen Farrell will look to add to his 73 Champions Cup points this season from fly-half and will be joined by Richard Wigglesworth who starts at scrum-half.

In the front row Mako Vunipola starts at loosehead, with Schalk Brits (hooker) and Petrus Du Plessis packing down alongside the England prop. The familiar pair of Maro Itoje and George Kruis continue to partner each other at lock whilst in the back-row, Jackson Wray (blindside flanker), Will Fraser (openside flanker) and Billy Vunipola (No8) all start.

Saracens team to face Northampton

15 Alex Goode (201)

14 Chris Ashton (91)

13 Duncan Taylor (86)

12 Brad Barritt (c) (165)

11 Chris Wyles (200)

10 Owen Farrell (129)

9 Richard Wigglesworth (147)

1 Mako Vunipola (93)  

2 Schalk Brits (164)

3 Petrus Du Plessis (124)

4 Maro Itoje (46)

5 George Kruis (117)

6 Jackson Wray (135)

7 Will Fraser (74)

8 Billy Vunipola (54)


16 Jared Saunders (32)

17 Richard Barrington (75)

18 Titi Lamositele (17)

19 Alistair Hargreaves (79)

20 Michael Rhodes (20)

21 Neil De Kock (251)

22 Marcelo Bosch (60)

23 Ben Ransom (64)

Share this story