Saracens - Team News: Saracens v Leicester Tigers

Oct 28, 2016

Team News: Saracens v Leicester Tigers

Saracens have named their side to face Leicester Tigers for Saturday’s round seven Aviva Premiership clash at Allianz Park, kick-off 15h00.

In the back three, Alex Goode continues at full-back and starts alongside Chris Wyles (left wing) and Sean Maitland (right wing). At centre, Brad Barritt skippers the side and is joined by Nick Tompkins at outside centre.

Ben Spencer rotates with Richard Wigglesworth at scrum-half to join Owen Farrell (fly-half) in the halves.

Mako Vunipola continues at loosehead and is joined by Jamie George (hooker) and Juan Figallo (tighthead).  At lock, with Maro Itoje and George ruled out with injury Michael Rhodes moves up to lock to partner Jim Hamilton. Mark Flanagan could make his Saracens debut from the bench.

In the back-row, the in-form Jackson Wray is named at blindside flanker with Schalk Burger continuing at openside flanker – Billy Vunipola wears the No8 jersey.

Speaking ahead of the game, director of rugby Mark McCall “Under Richard Cockerill Leicester have consistently challenged for the top spots in the Aviva Premiership and last weekend against Racing 92 in the Champions Cup they produced a performance that underlines how competitive a side they are this season.

“For ourselves, last weekend saw us record a win over a talented Scarlets outfit but there were aspects of our game that we can improve upon. The whole group has responded in this week’s training extremely well and we’re all looking forward to what should be a great game in front of a packed house at Allianz Park.”

Saracens Team to face Leicester Tigers

15 Alex Goode (215)

14 Sean Maitland (5)

13 Nick Tompkins (41)

12 Brad Barritt (c) (178)

11 Chris Wyles (214)

10 Owen Farrell (137)

9 Ben Spencer (80)

1 Mako Vunipola (108)

2 Jamie George (157)

3 Juan Figallo (42)

4 Michael Rhodes (35)

5 Jim Hamilton (56)

6 Jackson Wray (151)

7 Schalk Burger (7)

8 Billy Vunipola (68)


16 Schalk Brits (178)

17 Richard Barrington (89)

18 Petrus Du Plessis (139)

19 Mark Flanagan (0)

20 Kelly Brown (134)

21 Richard Wigglesworth (163)

22 Alex Lozowski (8)

23 Marcelo Bosch (75)

Share this story