Saracens - Team News: Saracens vs Exeter

Mar 25, 2016

Team News: Saracens vs Exeter

Saracens have named their side to face Exeter Chiefs in Saturday’s round 18 clash at Allianz Park, kick-off 15h15.


Saturday will be a day of personal milestones for three of the club’s longest serving players, as full-back Alex Goode and wing Chris Wyles will make their 200th appearances for the club. Veteran scrum-half Neil De Kock will make his 250th appearance from the Men in Black if used as a substitute.


Goode, will start at full-back, alongside fellow double-centurion Chris Wyles in the back three. Duncan Taylor returns to club action to take his place on the right wing.


At centre, Brad Barritt continues to skipper the side from inside centre. Marcelo Bosch is his midfield partner.


In the halves, Richard Wigglesworth starts at scrumhalf and will be joined by Owen Farrell who is back in his customary No10 shirt after England duty.


Up front, Mako Vunipola starts at loosehead prop and will be joined by Schalk Brits (hooker) and Petrus Du Plessis (tighthead prop) in the Saracens front row.


At lock, England’s Grand Slam engine room will be reunited as Maro Itoje and George Kruis will pack down alongside each other. In the back row, Billy Vunipola starts at No8 with Jackson Wray shifting to blindside flanker and Will Fraser coming into the side at openside flanker.


On the bench, Jared Saunders, Richard Barrington and Titi Lamositele are the named front-row replacements, with Alistair Hargreaves and Kelly Brown the forward cover. Neil De Kock covers half-back with three-quarters Ben Ransom and Mike Ellery also included in the matchday 23.

Saracens side to face Exeter Chiefs:


15 Alex Goode (199*)

14 Duncan Taylor (84)

13 Marcelo Bosch (58)

12 Brad Barritt (c) (163)

11 Chris Wyles (199)

10 Owen Farrell (127)

9 Richard Wigglesworth (145)

1 Mako Vunipola (91) 

2 Schalk Brits (162)

3 Petrus Du Plessis (122)

4 Maro Itoje (44)

5 George Kruis (115)

6 Jackson Wray (134)

7 Will Fraser (72)

8 Billy Vunipola (52)


16 Jared Saunders (30)

17 Richard Barrington (73)

18 Titi Lamositele (15)

19 Alistair Hargreaves (77)

20 Kelly Brown (126)

21 Neil De Kock (249)

22 Ben Ransom (62)

23 Mike Ellery (21)

*denotes Saracens appearances

Share this story