Saracens - Team News: Saracens vs Harlequins

Apr 15, 2016

Team News: Saracens vs Harlequins

Saracens have named their side to face Harlequins at Wembley Stadium in round 20 of the Aviva Premiership, Saturday kick-off 15h15.

Derby Day returns to Wembley as Saracens face cross-city rivals Harlequins with the ‘home’ side skippered by England man Mako Vunipola in the Club’s 13th game at the National Stadium since 2009.

Vunipola will captain the side from loosehead prop and will join Schalk Brits (hooker) and Petrus Du Plessis (tighthead prop) in the Saracens front row.

Jim Hamilton returns for Saracens at lock, rotating with Maro Itoje and the former Scotland international will pack down alongside England Grand Slam winning second rower, George Kruis. Alistair Hargreaves misses out with a slight knock whilst Hayden Smith takes his place amongst the replacements.

In the back row, Billy Vunipola is named at No8 with Jackson Wary (openside flanker) and Michael Rhodes (blindside flanker) taking their place in the Sarries loose-forward trio.

In the halves, after a spell on the sidelines Saracens welcome back Charlie Hodgson at fly-half, with Owen Farrell named on the bench. At scrum-half, Neil De Kock comes in for Richard Wigglesworth.

In the backs, Duncan Taylor moves to inside centre with Marcelo Bosch starting in the number 13 jersey. Alex Goode (full-back), Chris Wyles (left wing) and Chris Ashton (right wing) make up the Sarries back three.

Saracens team to face Harlequins

15 Alex Goode (202*)

14 Chris Ashton (92)

13 Marcelo Bosch (61)

12 Duncan Taylor (87)

11 Chris Wyles (201)

10 Charlie Hodgson (125)

9 Neil De Kock (252)

1 Mako Vunipola (c) (94)

2 Schalk Brits (165)

3 Petrus Du Plessis (125)

4 Jim Hamilton (42)

5 George Kruis (118)

6 Michael Rhodes (21)

7 Jackson Wray (136)

8 Billy Vunipola (55)




16 Jared Saunders (33)

17 Richard Barrington (76)

18 Titi Lamositele (18)

19 Hayden Smith (62)

20 Samu Vunisa (5)

21 Richard Wigglesworth (148)

22 Owen Farrell (130)

23 Nick Tompkins (32)


*denotes Saracens appearances

Share this story