Saracens - Whiteley nominated for Breakthrough Award

Mar 07, 2017

Whiteley nominated for Breakthrough Award

Saracens’ fly-half Tom Whiteley has been shortlisted for the Anglo-Welsh Cup Breakthrough Player Award.

Alongside Wasps’ flanker Jack Willis, Whiteley has nominated for the award after making a big impact in the pool rounds of the competition, judged by the statisticians at OPTA. They join Northampton Saints’ back Harry Mallinder, Gloucester Rugby prop Cameron Orr, Harlequins back-rower James Chisholm, Exeter Chiefs’ Stu Townsend, Bath Rugby's Zach Mercer, Josh Adams from Worcester Warriors, Sam Simmonds from Exeter Chiefs and Tom Howe from Wasps, who were the first eight players placed on the shortlist after the first four rounds of action.

Saracens’ 21-year-old half back Whiteley has had a strong Anglo-Welsh Cup campaign so far and currently sits top of the point scorers list thanks to three tries, 10 conversions and two penalty goals. In fact, just two players have managed to score more tries than Whiteley in the competition this season. With ball in hand he’s made 18 carries, beating eight defenders and making three clean breaks as well as providing a try assist. He has been busy in defence too – no back can better his tally of 38 tackles made this season, showing that the young half back deserves his place as one of this year’s Breakthrough wildcards.

Whiteley’s statistics:

Try: 3

Carries: 18

Metres: 26

Defenders beaten: 8

Clean Breaks: 3

Points: 41

The Breakthrough Player Award is open to the best Under-23 players in the Anglo-Welsh Cup with shortlisted players being named after each round. A public vote – which opens tomorrow - will decide the winner ahead of the Anglo-Welsh Cup Final, which is on Sunday 19 March at the Twickenham Stoop.

This year the competition is being supported by Citizen Watch UK who will provide the overall winner with the latest Citizen Skyhawk A-T watch and Gilbert who will supply £1,000 worth of kit to a grassroots club of the winner's choice.

Click here for tickets to the Anglo-Welsh Cup, which is at the Twickenham Stoop on 19 March

Launched in 2012, the Breakthrough Player Award celebrates and recognises those young players who have stood out in the tournament with previous winners Jack Nowell, Jonny May, Tom Collins and Ollie Devoto.

Using OPTA match statistics, a forward and back from each round, along with two players with outstanding overall competition statistics will form a shortlist, which will be submitted to a fan vote on The winner will be announced prior to the Anglo-Welsh Cup Final.

The shortlist:

Zach Mercer – Bath Rugby

Josh Adams – Worcester Warriors

Sam Simmonds – Exeter Chiefs

Tom Howe – Wasps

James Chisholm – Harlequins

Stu Townsend – Exeter Chiefs

Harry Mallinder – Northampton Saints

Cameron Orr – Gloucester Rugby

Jack Willis – Wasps

Tom Whiteley - Saracens

Catch Whiteley in Saracens' Anglo-Welsh Cup Semi-Final on Saturday at Allianz Park, kick-off 18h00. Tickets are available here.

Share this story