Saracens - Saracens name Heineken Cup Final team

May 23, 2014

Saracens name Heineken Cup Final team

Saracens have named their side to face Toulon in Saturday’s Heineken Cup final at Cardiff’s Millennium Stadium, kick-off 17h00.

Steve Borthwick will captain Saracens in their first ever Heineken Cup final from lock forward alongside Alistair Hargreaves in the second-row.

In the front-row, Mako Vunipola starts at loosehead prop alongside Schalk Brits (hooker) and Matt Stevens (tighthead prop).

Elsewhere in the pack, ERC Player of the Season nominee Jacques Burger starts at openside flanker, with Scotland captain Kelly Brown wearing the number six jersey. England international back-rower Billy Vunipola starts at No.8.

In the backs, scrum-half Richard Wigglesworth partners England outside- half Owen Farrell and half back, whilst in midfield, Brad Barritt and Marcelo Bosch start in the centres.

In the back three, Alex Goode starts at full-back with Chris Ashton and David Strettle named on the wings.

Saracens side to face Toulon;

15. Alex Goode; 14. Chris Ashton, 13. Marcelo Bosch, 12. Brad Barritt, 11. David Strettle; 10. Owen Farrell, 9. Richard Wigglesworth; 1. Mako Vunipola, 2. Schalk Brits 3. Matt Stevens, 4. Steve Borthwick ©, 5. Alistair Hargreaves, 6. Kelly Brown, 7. Jacques Burger, 8. Billy Vunipola.

Replacements: 16. Jamie George, 17. Richard Barrington, 18. James Johnston, 19. Mouritz Botha, 20. Jackson Wray, 21. Neil de Kock, 22. Charlie Hodgson, 23. Chris Wyles.


Share this story