Saracens - Saracens name side for Semi-Final

Apr 17, 2015

Saracens name side for Semi-Final

Saracens have named their side to face ASM Clermont Auvergne in Saturday’s European Champions Cup semi-final at St-Etienne’s Stade Geoffory-Guichard.

Saracens are forced into a change at skipper, with club captain Alastair Hargreaves side lined for the crunch semi-final clash through injury. England centre Brad Barritt will lead Saracens in Hargreaves’ absence.

Barritt is named alongside quarter final hero Marcelo Bosch in the Saracens midfield, with Chris Wyles and Chris Ashton named on the wings – Alex Goode starts at full-back.

At halfback, Richard Wigglesworth partners Charlie Hodgson.

In the pack, Mako Vunipola and Petrus Du Plessis are the starting props, with Jamie George continuing at hooker.

England forward George Kruis partners Jim Hamilton in the second-row, with Maro Itoje moving to blindside flanker to join the returning Jacques Burger and England No8 Billy Vunipola in the Saracens back row.

On the bench, Schalk Brits takes is named as a replacement and is joined by Wales prop Rhys Gill and Samoan international James Johnston as front row replacements. Back row duo Kelly Brown and Jackson Wray are also named as replacements.

Neil de Kock is scrumhalf cover, with England international Owen Farrell making a welcome return to the matchday squad. Farrell is named alongside David Strettle as Saracens’ outside back replacements.

Saracens clermont slide

Saracens team to face ASM Clermont Auvergne:

15 Alex Goode; 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Marcelo Bosch 12 Brad Barritt ©, 11 Chris Wyles; 10 Charlie Hodgson, 9 Richard Wigglesworth; 1 Mako Vunipola, 2 Jamie George, 3 Petrus Du Plessis, 4 George Kruis 5 Jim Hamilton; 6 Maro Itoje, 7 Jacques Burger, 8 Billy Vunipola.

Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Rhys Gill, 18 James Johnston, 19 Kelly Brown, 20 Jackson Wray 21 Neil de Kock, 22 Owen Farrell, 23 David Strettle.

Share this story