Saracens - Saracens name side to face Exeter

Feb 06, 2015

Saracens name side to face Exeter

Saracens have named their side to face Exeter Chiefs in Sunday’s crunch LV=Cup clash at Allianz Park, kick-off 15h00.

Joe Shaw’s side can secure a home LV=Cup semi-final on Sunday if the beat cup holders Exeter, who have already booked their place in the competitions last four.

Fresh from his impressive England Saxons debut, Maro Itoje returns to the Saracens team as skipper and will partner USA international lock-forward Hayden Smith in the second row.

Elsewhere in the forwards, Welsh international prop forward Rhys Gill starts alongside Jared Saunders and Biyi Alo in the Saracens front row.

South African loose forward Nick de Jager starts at blindside flanker alongside Jackson Wray (No8) and Matt Hankin (openside flanker) in the back row.

In the halves, last weekend’s match winner Ben Spencer continues at scrum-half and is partnered by the experienced Nils Mordt, who starts at fly-half.

Max Wilkins continues in the heart of the Saracens midfield after an impressive outing away to London Welsh. Wilkins is partnered by Tim Streather in the centres.

In the back three, Ben Ransom starts at full-back and is joined by Catalin Fercu and Mike Ellery on the wings.

Saracens team to face Exeter Chiefs:

15. Ben Ransom; 14. Mike Ellery, 13. Tim Streather, 12. Max Wilkins, 11. Catalin Fercu; 10. Nils Mordt, 9. Ben Spencer; 1. Rhys Gill, 2. Jared Saunders; 3. Biyi Alo, 4. Maro Itoje ©, 5. Hayden Smith; 6. Nick De Jager, 7. Matt Hankin, 8. Jackson Wray.

Replacements: 16. Brett Sharman, 17. Richard Barrington, 18. Ben Featherstone, 19. Kennett Sharples, 20. Hayden Thompson-Stringer, 21. Tom Whiteley, 22. Thretton Palamo, 23. Alex Goode.

Share this story