Saracens - Saracens name side to face Northampton

Nov 21, 2014

Saracens name side to face Northampton

Saracens have named their side to face Northampton Saints in Round 8 of the Aviva Premiership at Allianz Park on Sunday, KO 13h00.

Saracens welcome back Billy Vunipola to the squad for Sunday’s clash, the England No.8 starts in the back row alongside Jackson Wray (blindside flanker) and Will Fraser (openside flanker).

At lock, Jim Hamilton comes into the side to partner skipper Alistair Hargreaves, whilst in the front row Rhys Gill, Jamie George and Juan Figallo will start the game.

At half-back, Ben Spencer replaces Richard Wigglesworth who is away on England duty, to partner Charlie Hodgson. Chris Wyles continues at inside centre and is joined by Nick Tompkins in the heart of the Saracens midfield.

In the back-three Saracens remain unchanged, with in-form wings David Strettle and Chris Ashton joining Alex Goode in the back field.

On the bench, Brett Sharman is named as replacement and could face his former club, whilst Richard Barrington and James Johnston are named as prop replacements. LV=Cup captain Maro Itoje comes into the squad, with Jacques Burger and Ernst Joubert also taking their place on the Saracens bench. Neil de Kock and Ben Ransom are named as the Saracens back replacements.

Saracens starting XV to face Northampton Saints:

15. Alex Goode; 14. Chris Ashton, 13. Nick Tompkins, 12. Chris Wyles, 11. David Strettle; 10. Charlie Hodgson, 9. Ben Spencer; 1. Rhys Gill, 2. Jamie George, 3. Juan Figallo, 4. Jim Hamilton, 5. Alistair Hargreaves, 6. Jackson Wray, 7. Will Fraser, 8. Billy Vunipola.

Replacements; 16. Brett Sharman, 17. Richard Barrington, 18. James Johnston, 19. Maro Itoje, 20. Jacques Burger, 21. Ernst Joubert, 22. Neil de Kock, 23. Ben Ransom.

Share this story