Saracens - Saracens name side to face the Chiefs

Nov 22, 2013

Saracens name side to face the Chiefs

Saracens have named their team to face the Exeter Chiefs at Sandy Park in round 8 of the Aviva Premiership.

Three of Saracens six England contingent start, with Alex Goode starting at full-back, Chris Ashton on the right wing and Billy Vunipola at No.8 - Owen Farrell is rested, whilst Joel Tomkins and Mako Vunipola are side-lined through injury.

In the backs, Tim Streather continues at outside centre after scoring his first try for the club against the Scarlets on his home debut - the 25 year-old partners Argentine international Marcelo Bosch in the midfield.

This seasons Premiership leading try scorer David Strettle returns to the side on the left wing, whilst Charlie Hodgson and Richard Wigglesworth make up a familiar looking half-back pairing.

In the forwards, Richard Barrington, Jamie George and Matt Stevens start in the front-row.

Steve Borthwick returns to captain the side alongside Springbok international Alastair Hargreaves at lock.

In the back-row, Jackson Wray moves to blindside flanker as Billy Vunipola returns to the side at eight, and Namibian Jacques Burger wears the number seven shirt.

Starting XV to face the Exeter Chiefs;

15. Alex Goode; 14. Chris Ashton, 13. Tim Streather, 12. Marcelo Bosch, 11. David Strettle; 10. Charlie Hodgson, 9. Richard Wigglesworth; 1. Richard Barrington, 2. Jamie George, 3. Matt Stevens, 4. Steve Borthwick ©, 5. Alastair Hargreaves, 6. Jackson Wray, 7. Jacques Burger, 8. Billy Vunipola.


16. Schalk Brits, 17. Jared Saunders, 18. Petrus Du Plessis, 19. George Kruis, 20. Will Fraser, 21. Ben Spencer, 22. Michael Tagicakibau, 23. Ben Ransom.


Share this story