Saracens - Saracens name team for London Irish

Sep 06, 2013

Saracens name team for London Irish

Saracens begin their 2013/14 Aviva Premiership campaign at Twickenham on Saturday against London Irish as part of the London Double Header.

In team news ahead of the game, Billy Vunipola will make his Saracens debut while British Lions Matt Stevens, Owen Farrell and Brad Barritt are also in the starting line-up with Mako Vunipola named among the replacements.

“The London Double Header is a great way to start to new season with all four London clubs battling it out in a showpiece occasion in front of a big crowd,” explained Director of Rugby Mark McCall.

“London Irish have made a number of changes on and off the field. In Brian Smith they have an experienced Director of Rugby and with the likes of Tomas O’Leary, Sailosi Tagicakibau and Marland Yarde in their squad, they have quality on the pitch which should make for an exciting game.

“The objective of our club is to be consistently successful and we are aware that in order for that to be achieved, there will be no substitute for hard work over the coming months – starting on Saturday against London Irish.”

Saracens line-up vs London Irish

15 Chris Wyles, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Joel Tomkins, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 David Strettle, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Richard Wigglesworth, 1 Rhys Gill, 2 Jamie George, 3 Matt Stevens, 4 Steve Borthwick ©, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 6 Billy Vunipola, 7 Jacques Burger, 8 Ernst Joubert


16 Scott Spurling, 17 Mako Vunipola, 18 Petrus du Plessis, 19 George Kruis, 20 Jackson Wray, 21 Ben Spencer, 22 Nils Mordt, 23 Ben Ransom


Share this story