Saracens - Saracens name team for LV=Cup final

Mar 20, 2015

Saracens name team for LV=Cup final

Saracens have named their team to face Exeter Chiefs in Sunday’s LV=Cup final at Franklin’s Gardens, kick-off 15h00.

Joe Shaw’s side remain unbeaten in this season’s Anglo-Welsh cup competition and the Saracens coach has opted for a familiar looking side making only one change to the team that beat Northampton Saints in last weekend’s semi-final.

With Rhys Gill away on international duty with Wales, Richard Barrington is promoted to loosehead prop in Saracens solitary starting XV change. Barrington packs down alongside Jared Saunders and Argentine international Juan Figallo in the front row.

Maro Itoje will captain the side from lock forward, and is joined by USA international Hayden Smith.

In the back row, Ernst Joubert continues at No8 and he is joined by loose forwards Nick de Jager and Matt Hankin.

Ben Spencer continues alongside Nils Mordt in the halves, whilst Tim Streather and Marcelo Bosch partner each other at centre.

In the back three, Mike Ellery continues on the right wing with David Strettle named on the opposite flank. Ben Ransom starts at full-back.

Saracens team to face Exeter Chiefs: 15 Ben Ransom; 14 Mike Ellery, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Tim Streather, 11 David Strettle; 10 Nils Mordt, 9 Ben Spencer; 1 Richard Barrington, 2 Jared Saunders, 3 Juan Figallo, 4 Maro Itoje ©, 5 Hayden Smith; 6 Nick de Jager, 7 Matt Hankin, 8 Ernst Joubert.

Replacements: 16 Scott Spurling, 17 Titi Lamositele, 18 Biyi Alo, 19 George Kruis, 20 Kelly Brown, 21 Tom Whiteley, 22 Alex Goode, 23 Catalin Fercu.

Share this story