Saracens - Saracens name team for Premiership semi final

May 22, 2015

Saracens name team for Premiership semi final

Saracens have named their side to face Northampton Saints for Saturday’s Aviva Premiership semi-final play-off at Franklin’s Gardens, kick-off 14h00.

In a repeat of last season’s Premiership final Saracens welcome back centre Brad Barritt. The England international returns to the side to take his place at inside centre and will be partnered by Duncan Taylor in the Sarries midfield.

David Strettle and Chris Wyles are named on the wing to join Alex Goode in the Saracens back three. Chris Ashton, who has missed much of this week’s training due to illness, is expected to be well enough to take a place on the bench.

In the halves, Richard Wigglesworth is named at scrum-half with Owen Farrell starting at 10.

Forward duo Jacques Burger and Petrus Du Plessis will both make their 100th appearance for the club in the Premiership play-offs. Tighthead prop Petrus Du Plessis starts the game alongside BT Sport Hooker of the Season Jamie George in the Saracens front row, with Mako Vunipola packing down at loosehead.

At lock, Alistair Hargreaves skippers the side and is partnered by England man George Kruis.

In the back-row, century man Jacques Burger starts at openside flanker to join Maro Itoje, who packs down on the blindside. Saracens Player of the Season Billy Vunipola starts at No8.

Semi Final Team

Saracens team to face Northampton Saints

15 Alex Goode

14 Chris Wyles

13 Duncan Taylor

12 Brad Barritt

11 David Strettle

10 Owen Farrell

9 Richard Wigglesworth

1 Mako Vunipola

2 Jamie George

3 Petrus Du Plessis

4 George Kruis

5 Alistair Hargreaves ©

6 Maro Itoje

7 Jacques Burger

8 Billy Vunipola

16 Schalk Brits

17 Richard Barrington

18 Juan Figallo

19 Jim Hamilton

20 Jackson Wray

21 Neil de Kock

22 Charlie Hodgson

23 Chris Ashton

Share this story