Saracens - Saracens name team for Wembley

Mar 27, 2015

Saracens name team for Wembley

Saracens have named their side to face Harlequins at Wembley Stadium in round 18 of the Aviva Premiership, Saturday kick-off 15h15.

With Saturday’s fixture at the National Stadium set to draw a world record crowd for club rugby union fixture Saracens welcome back fly-half Charlie Hodgson who will run out for 100th game for the club.

Hodgson is named alongside experienced scrum half Neil de Kock, who is set to make his 11th appearance for Saracens at Wembley Stadium.

In the midfield, Chris Wyles comes into the side at inside centre to partner Argentine Marcelo Bosch.

Fresh from his brace of tries in Saracens’ 23-20 LV=Cup final victory against the Exeter Chiefs, prolific wing David Strettle takes his place on the left wing and is joined by fellow try poacher Chris Ashton and England full-back, Alex Goode, in the Saracens back three.

Up front, Mako Vunipola takes his place in the Saracens front row to join Jamie George (hooker) and Juan Figallo (tighthead prop). Elsewhere in the Saracens engine room, England lock forward George Kruis returns to the starting line-up alongside skipper Alistair Hargreaves in the second row.

England back row star Billy Vunipola is named at No8, and he is joined by Jackson Wray and Jacques Burger in Saracens’ loose forward trio.

Wembley Team

Saracens side to face Harlequins

1 Mako Vunipola, 2 Jamie George, 3 Juan Figallo; 4 George Kruis, 5 Alistair Hargreaves ©; 6 Jackson Wray, 7 Jacques Burger, 8 Billy Vunipola; 9 Neil de Kock, 10 Charlie Hodgson; 11 David Strettle, 12 Chris Wyles, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 14 Chris Ashton; 15 Alex Goode.

Replacements: 16 Scott Spurling, 17 Rhys Gill, 18 Biyi Alo, 19 Maro Itoje, 20 Kelly Brown, 21 Richard Wigglesworth, 22 Nick Tompkins, 23 Catalin Fercu.

Share this story