Saracens - Saracens name team to face Racing Metro 92

Apr 03, 2015

Saracens name team to face Racing Metro 92

Saracens have named their team for Sunday’s European Champions Cup quarter final away to Racing Metro 92 at the Stade Yves-du-Manoir, kick-off 12h45 (GMT).

With club captain Alistair Hargreaves ruled out of the game through injury, England scrumhalf Richard Wigglesworth will skipper the side in Paris.

Wigglesworth starts alongside Charlie Hodgson in the Saracens halves, with Chris Wyles and Marcelo Bosch continuing to partner each other at centre.

Fresh from his Wembley heroics, Chris Ashton continues in the Saracens No14 jersey and is partnered by the in-form David Strettle on the left wing. Alex Goode continues at fullback.

Up front, Petrus Du Plessis returns to the side at tighthead prop and will join Jamie George and Mako Vunipola in the Saracens front row.

At lock, Jim Hamilton returns to the side to replace Hargreaves, and will partner England international George Kruis in the second row.

Elsewhere in the Saracens pack, Billy Vunipola continues at No8 and is joined by Jackson Wray (blindside flanker) and Jacques Burger (openside flanker)

On the bench, Schalk Brits comes into the squad, with loosehead Rhys Gill and tighthead James Johnston the other front row replacements.

LV=Cup winning skipper Maro Itoje also takes his place on the wood, with Kelly Brown and Matt Hankin also named as replacements. Scrumhalf Neil de Kock and centre Nick Tompkins are Saracens’ back replacements.

Racing Metro Team Slide


15 Alex Goode; 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Chris Wyles, 11 David Strettle; 10 Charlie Hodgson, Richard Wigglesworth ©; 1 Mako Vunipola, 2 Jamie George, 3 Petrus Du Plessis; 4 George Kruis, 5 Jim Hamilton; 6 Jackson Wray, 7 Jacques Burger, 8 Billy Vunipola; 9  ;

Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Richard Barrington, 18 James Johnston, 19 Maro Itoje, 20 Kelly Brown, 21 Matt Hankin, 22 Neil De Kock, 23 Nick Tompkins.

Racing Metro 92

15 Brice Dulin;  14 Juan Imhoff, 13 Henry Chavancy, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Teddy Thomas; 10 Jonny Sexton, 9 Maxime Machenaud; 1 Eddy Ben Arous, 2 Dimitri Szarzewski (c), 3 Luc Ducalcon, 4 Luke Charteris, 5 Francois van der Merwe; 6 Wenceslas Lauret, 7. Camille Gerondeau, 8 Antonie Claassen.

Replacements: 16 Virgile Lacombe, 17 Julien Brugnaut, 18 Brian Mujati, 19 Fabrice Metz, 20 Thibault Dubarry, 21 Mike Phillips, 22 Johannes Goosen, 23  Alexandre Dumoulin.

Share this story