Saracens - Nine Saracens players named in England squads

Jan 21, 2015

Nine Saracens players named in England squads

Nine Saracens players have been included in England’s training squad for the 2015 RBS 6 Nations game v Wales and the Saxons squad for the game against Ireland Wolfhounds on January 30.

Seven players have been included in Stuart Lancaster’s 34-man senior squad, with loosehead prop Mako Vunipola returning to the England squad after a knee injury ruled him out of the autumn international series.

Vunipola is joined by lock George Kruis, and in-form No8 Billy Vunipola. Elsewhere, Brad Barritt, Owen Farrell, Alex Goode and Richard Wigglesworth are also included.

Saracens lock Maro Itoje, captain of England’s Under 20s Junior World Championship winning side last June, is named in the Saxons for the first time. Itoje joins prolific Saracens wing Chris Ashton in the Saxons squad.

maro itoje

England Head Coach, Stuart Lancaster: "Looking at both squads it’s obvious there is a lot of depth and competition in every position, which is what we want. Many players are putting their hand up in the Aviva Premiership and Europe and they have a chance to impress in training as we build towards the games against Wales and the Wolfhounds.  

“We have plenty of players to consider and with some players still being assessed from last weekend after suffering knocks we have kept our options open.

“It's a big European weekend ahead and there may be further changes once we assess the fitness of the players after round six and we will provide an update on Monday. We will use the four-day training camp and the Saxons game to narrow down selection as we lead into the opening game against Wales.

“The match against the Wolfhounds in Cork gives us a great opportunity to take a look at a group of players who are right on the edge of the senior squad and we also have the likes of David Strettle and Freddie Burns, who are very much in our thinking as options going forward."

England Senior training squad


Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby), Calum Clark (Northampton Saints), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Alex Corbisiero (Northampton Saints), Nick Easter (Harlequins), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), James Haskell (Wasps), Graham Kitchener (Leicester Tigers), George Kruis (Saracens), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, captain), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), David Wilson (Bath Rugby), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints), Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers).


Brad Barritt (Saracens), Mike Brown (Harlequins), Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints), Danny Care (Harlequins), Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks), Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Bath Rugby), Alex Goode (Saracens), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby), Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby), Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).

England Saxons squad


Kieran Brookes (Newcastle Falcons), Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers), Christian Day (Northampton Saints), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Dave Ewers (Exeter Chiefs), Matt Garvey (Bath Rugby), Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks), Maro Itoje (Saracens), Matt Kvesic (Gloucester Rugby), Matt Mullan (Wasps), Henry Thomas (Bath Rugby), Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs), Alex Waller (Northampton Saints), Rob Webber (Bath Rugby).


Chris Ashton (Saracens), Sam Burgess (Bath Rugby), Elliot Daly (Wasps), Ollie Devoto (Bath Rugby), Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints, captain), Chris Pennell (Worcester Warriors), Joe Simpson (Wasps) Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Marland Yarde (Harlequins), Christian Wade (Wasps).

Share this story