Saracens - Vunipola brothers & George named in England squad

Aug 18, 2015

Vunipola brothers & George named in England squad

Billy Vunipola, Mako Vunipola and the uncapped Jamie George have been named in England’s 23-man squad for Saturday's Test against France at the Stade de France (8pm BST, live on Sky Sports 1 HD).

No8 Vunipola is one of 14 changes to the starting line-up that beat France 19-14 in the QBE International at Twickenham Stadium last Saturday, with the bulldozing loose forward starting alongside captain Chris Robshaw and James Haskell in the England back row.

[caption id="attachment_45709" align="alignnone" width="650"]GettyImages-483564802 Billy Vunipola is set to win his 19th England cap[/caption]

Joining Billy Vunipola on the bench is brother Mako, whilst there is also a place in the matchday 23 for the first time for Saracens hooker Jamie George.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: "Having reviewed last Saturday there were a lot of things we were pleased with considering it was the first game. There is now an opportunity for those not involved or who didn't get much opportunity from the bench to put a marker down and build on that performance.

"France were very good last weekend and will be even stronger at home and this will be a big test but these guys have been working hard for the opportunity and are desperate to go out and perform. I'm delighted for Jamie George who hopefully gets his first cap and also Joe Launchbury, who has worked tirelessly and patiently to get back to fitness.

"It is a big couple of weeks ahead for all the 39-man squad with the game this weekend and some competitive training sessions to come this week and next as we look to narrow down the squad ahead of the World Cup."

[caption id="attachment_45710" align="alignnone" width="650"]England Media Access Mako Vunipola is set to face France in Paris[/caption]

England (v France, Stade de France, 8pm BST, Saturday August 22)

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 37 caps)

14 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 8 caps)

13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 11 caps)

12 Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints, 12 caps)

11 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 14 caps)

10 George Ford (Bath Rugby, 11 caps)

9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 47 caps)

1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 31 caps)

2 Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 22 caps)

3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 50 caps)

4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 22 caps)

5 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 38 caps)

6 James Haskell (Wasps, 59 caps)

7 Chris Robshaw (capt, Harlequins, 37 caps)

8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 18 caps)


16 Jamie George (Saracens, uncapped)

17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 21 caps)

18 David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 42 caps)

19 Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby, 21 caps)

20 Nick Easter (Harlequins, 51 caps)

21 Danny Care (Harlequins, 51 caps)

22 Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks, 13 caps)

23 Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby, 21 caps)

Share this story