Saracens - Saracens win in Bermuda

Jun 08, 2014

Saracens win in Bermuda

Saracens ran out convincing 48-14 winners to claim the 2014 World Wide Currencies Atlantic Cup after beating the Bermuda Barbarians today at the Bermuda National Stadium in aid of the Beyond Rugby Charity.

The Bermuda Baa Baa’s had players such as ex-Saracens winger Richard Haughton, Harlequins No.8 Nick Easter, Worcester Warriors lock Dean Schofield, Bath Rugby’s Tom Biggs and Welsh internationals Ian Gough and Richie Rees in their playing squad.

Winger James Short scored a hat-trick of tries for Saracens, with fellow winger Jack Wilson crossing for a brace of tries. Fly-half Josh Sharp scored a try in either half, with Welsh loosehead prop Rhys Gill also crossing for a five pointer in a forty yard dash.

Both sets of sides produced a commitment performance in what was a muggy and hot evening at the Bermudan National Stadium that had earlier watched their national side take on the Cayman Islands. A healthy crowd was in attendance and they didn’t have to wait too long for the first try as in his farewell appearance James Short scored the first of his three tries with a trademark poacher’s effort after he collected a ball that had rebounded from former Sarries winger Richard Haughton’s head. Spencer converted with aplomb from out wide.

Soon after it was Josh Sharp who would cross next, the 18-year-old selling a dummy to force his way over just left of the posts. Tries would follow for winger Jack Wilson and James Short as Saracens led 21-0 at the break.

In the second half the hosts invitational side rallied scoring two tries after James Short secured his hat-trick and Jack Wilson crossed for his second. As the game went into its final stages Rhys Gill crossed for his score, with Josh Sharp wrapping things up in the 79th minute.

Saracens team: 15. Ben Ransom; 14. Jack Wilson, 13. Tim Streather, 12. Ian Vass, 11. James Short; 10. Josh Sharp, 9. Ben Spencer; 1. Richard Barrington, 2. Jamie George (capt), 3. Petrus Du Plessis, 4. Mouritz Botha, 5. Eoin Sheriff, 6. Jackson Wray, 7. Matt Everard, 8. Nick Fenton-Wells.

Subs – (All used) - 16.Rhys Gill, 17. Anton Van Zyl, 18. Warrick Lang, 19. David Strettle.




Share this story