Saracens - Eight Sarries to remain with England

Aug 07, 2015

Eight Sarries to remain with England

Eight Saracens players will remain with England as they return to Pennyhill Park on Sunday to resume their preparations for the QBE Internationals and the Rugby World Cup.

Saracens remain the most heavily represented Premiership club within the squad, with Brad Barritt, Owen Farrell, Alex Goode, Jamie George, George Kruis, Mako Vunipola, Billy Vunipola and Richard Wigglesworth staying with the squad - wing Chris Ashton will return to Saracens to rejoin his teammates.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster revealed how tough a decision it was to trim down his squad: “It has been difficult to narrow down the squad as everyone has contributed and given their all. But what I have said to those guys who are not coming back in on Sunday is that the door is not closed by any means; they are only an injury away and there is a lot of international rugby to be played this season, culminating in a three-Test tour to Australia."

England will play France at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday, August 15 and on his side’s preparation, Lancaster said: “We had a great two-week camp in Denver where the entire squad worked extremely hard and were exceptional in the way they went about the training. That has continued this week and competition for places has been very intense.”

He added: “Overall we are in good shape.”

England training squad

Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby)

Brad Barritt (Saracens)

Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints)

Mike Brown (Harlequins)

Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints)

Sam Burgess (Bath Rugby)

Danny Care (Harlequins)

Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks)

Calum Clark (Northampton Saints)

Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)

Alex Corbisiero (Northampton Saints)

Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)

Nick Easter (Harlequins)

Owen Farrell (Saracens)

George Ford (Bath Rugby)

Alex Goode (Saracens)

Jamie George (Saracens)

James Haskell (Wasps)

Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)

Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)

Joe Launchbury (Wasps)

George Kruis (Saracens)

Joe Marler (Harlequins)

Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)

Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby)

Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)

Geoff Parling (Exeter Chiefs)

Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)

Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)

Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby)

Mako Vunipola (Saracens)

Billy Vunipola (Saracens)

Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)

Rob Webber (Bath Rugby)

Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)

David Wilson (Bath Rugby)

Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)

Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Share this story