Saracens - Sharks announce team to face Saracens

Jan 23, 2014

Sharks announce team to face Saracens

The C Cell Sharks have announced their squad to face Saracens in the Sanlam Private Investments Shield this Saturday at Allianz Park, kick-off 14h30.

Sharks Director of Rugby Jake White has selected a team with a Springbok front row, with recently appointed captain Bismarck Du Pessis skippering the side from hooker. He is joined in the front row by brother and fellow Springbok Jannie Du Plessis, and Tendai Mtawarira.

In the back row, Willem Alberts starts at No.8, and is joined by loose-forwards Jean Deysel and Tera Mtembu in the back row.

In the backs, Springbok wingers Odwa Ndungane and Lwazi Mvovo start for the Sharks.

Marcell Coetzee, Keegan Daniel and Frans Steyn did not tour after picking up injuries in training.

The Cell C Sharks team to face Saracens;

1. Tendai Mtawarira, 2. Bismarck du Plessis (Captain), 3. Jannie du Plessis, 4. Etienne Oosthuizen, 5. Pieter–Steph du Toit, 6. Tera Mtembu, 7. Jean Deysel, 8. Willem Alberts; 9. Cobus Reinach, 10. Tim Swiel; 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 13. Paul Jordaan, 14. Odwa Ndungane; 15. Tyler Fisher.


16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Stephan Lewies, 20. Jacques Botes, 21. Charl McLeod, 22. Heimar Williams, 23. Jaco van Tonder.

Share this story