Saracens - Squad heading to Bermuda on Monday

May 22, 2013

Squad heading to Bermuda on Monday

Saracens fly out to Bermuda on Monday for a visit to promote rugby on the island and help try and raise in excess of $50,000 for the Beyond Rugby charity and the youth section of Bermuda Rugby Football Union.

The six-day trip will see the squad engage with the community through a series of school visits, coaching workshops and fund-raising activities, and will play a match against a Bermuda International Select XV on the evening of Friday 31 May.

On Tuesday they will be visiting four schools across the paradise island and taking part in coaching sessions with pupils – many of who may never have played rugby before.

Later that day, the coaching staff will hold a seminar for Bermuda’s sports coaches before the players, members of the BRFU youth program including the Bermuda U19s team and the Bermuda Womens Rugby Team will come together for a training session later in the week.

There are also two fundraising events planned for Beyond Rugby Bermuda - a charity aimed at using rugby and sport in general to educate kids from challenging backgrounds and provide them with valuable life skills, assist with education and provide counselling to improve their prospects in life. These are a golf day and a beach tag rugby tournament.

The week is completed with a match against the Bermuda International XV – a team that includes Geordan Murphy, George Chuter, Simon Taylor, Anton van Zyl, Gcobani Bobo, Hanyani Shimange, Shaun Perry, Mike Petri, members of the USA national team and 10 from the Canadian national team - along with a number of local players.

The Saracens traveling squad to Bermuda is below – please note that due to injury, not all of those listed will play in the match against the Bermuda International XV. The squad also includes a number of former Saracens and guest players.

Biyi Alo, Chris Ashton, Mouritz Botha, Jacques Burger, Neil de Kock, Petrus du Plessis, Alex Goode, Alistair Hargreaves, Charlie Hodgson, Ernst Joubert, Tom Jubb, George Kruis, Justin Melck, Nils Mordt, Ethienne Reynecke, Andy Saull, Jared Saunders, Eoin Sheriff, Henry Staff, Sam Stanley, Rory Teague, James Tirrell, Nick Tompkins, Jack Wilson, Jackson Wray

Share this story