Saracens - Squads named for legends curtain raiser

Mar 21, 2013

Squads named for legends curtain raiser

Fans at Sunday’s top of the table clash between Saracens and Harlequins are in for a treat when some of the club’s most famous names take to the field once again in a curtain-raiser match.

Kick off for the Premiership clash is 2pm, but from 11am when gates open at Allianz Park, the John Buckton XV will take on the Saracens Scimitars.

The match has always traditionally been between a “Saracens Old Boys” team and the Scimitars, who still play and represent Saracens at Bramley Road where the game usually takes place.

But this year, the match will take place at Allianz Park and players from the past three decades will pull on the Saracens jersey once again.

The game will be divided into three separate sessions;

•             Session One 11.00am - 80's team (players who joined & played in that decade)
•             Session Two  11.25am- 90's team (players who joined & played in that decade)
•             Session Three 11.50am - 00's 'The Dream Team' – (players from 2000 onwards)

The teams for the matches are:

The 1980s team

Richie Andrews, Jason Leonard, Stephen Jones, Stu Wilson, John McGurk, Lee Adamson, Dougie Cooke, Steve Kempster, Mark Brown, Sean Robinson, Ben Rudling, Martin Gregory, John Buckton, Paul Reed, Terry Barrow, Dave Tillotson, Errol Campbell, Steve Hancock, Stuart Lawrence

The 1990s team

Adam Kelly, Gregg Botterman, Mark Burrows, Mark Langley, Kris Chesney, John Green, Jeff van Poortvliet, Ben Sturnham, Brian Davies, Phil Friel, Andy Lee, Neville Simpson, Paul Butler, Dan Dooley, Steve Ravenscroft, Andy Atkinson, Tony Dalwood, Paul Hughes, Andy Tunningley

The 2000s team

Adam Kelly, Jason Leonard, Gregg Botterman, Mark Langley, Paddy Johns, Mark Burrows, Kris Chesney, John Green, Ben Sturnham, Brian Davies, Thomas Castaignede, Steve Ravenscroft, Paul Reed, Dave Tillotson, Martin Gregory, Andy Tunningley

Share this story