Saracens - Storm brush aside Irish 'A' in 5-try win

Sep 22, 2014

Storm brush aside Irish 'A' in 5-try win

Saracens Storm battled back to beat London Irish ‘A’ in a 10-31 win at Hazlewood, Sunbury.

Full-back Ben Ransom (pictured) and flanker Matt Hankin both bagged a brace of tries, with replacement winger George Perkins wrapping up the win right before the final whistle, as the Storm overturned a five point deficit to run out comfortable winners.

Ben Ransom gave the Storm the lead in the first-half crossing over in the corner before the fifteen minute mark – Ben Spencer narrowly missed the conversion.

The Exiles hit back when scrum-half Darren Allinson quick-tapped and raced away to score. Allinson’s half-back partner and Exiles captain Myles Dorrian converted as the hosts went into half-time with a narrow 7-5 lead.

After the break Dorrian extended London Irish ‘A’s lead to five points with a penalty goal, only for Saracens Storm’s quicksilver full-back Ben Ransom to dance his way over for his second try of the evening four minutes later. This time Ben Spencer made no mistake with the conversion, as the Storm edged in front to lead 10-12.

The Storm started to step up the intensity, and it was no surprise when flanker Matt Hankin bundled his way over to score. Spencer again converted.

As the game wore on Hankin crossed for his second. The all-action loose-forward the beneficiary of a powerful Storm rolling maul. Mordt added the extras before Perkins raced away to score to cap off a fine victory in the Premiership ‘A’ League.

Next up for Saracens Storm are Bath United at The Rec next Monday evening, kick-off 19h30.

Final Score – London Irish ‘A’ 10 Saracens Storm 31

Saracens Storm team; 15. Ben Ransom; 14. Jack Wilson, 13. Nick Tompkins, 12. Max Wilkins, 11. Mike Ellery; 10. Nils Mordt, 9. Ben Spencer; 1. Tom Williams, 2. Phil Thiel, 3. Biyi Alo, 4. Maro Itoje (c), 5. Kennet O’Neill, 6. Hayden Thompson-Stringer, 7. Matt Hankin, 8. Nick De Jager.

Replacements; 16. Antonio Harris, 17. Ben Featherstone, 18. Jack Culverhouse, 19. Torran Macdougall, 20. Don Barrell, 21. Tom Whiteley, 22. Tom Griffiths, 23. George Perkins.

Try Scorers

Ben Ransom x 2, Matt Hankin x2, George Perkins


Ben Spencer x2, Nils Mordt x 1


Share this story