Saracens - Storm team named for A-League semi-final

Jan 05, 2015

Storm team named for A-League semi-final

Saracens Storm have named their side for tonight’s Aviva Premiership A-League semi-final against Newcastle Falcons A at Allianz Park, kick-off 19h30.

Joe Shaw’s side have remained unbeaten in the Southern Conference this season, and the Saracens Storm coach has named a familiar looking side to face Falcons A.

Up front, Richard Barrington starts at loosehead prop, and is joined by Jared Saunders (hooker) and Biyi Alo (tighthead prop).

Maro Itoje will captain the side from second row, and is partnered by Nick De Jager at lock.

In the back row, experienced loose forward Ernst Joubert starts at No8, with Hayden Thompson-Stringer and Matt Hankin joining him at blindside flanker and openside flanker respectively.

Ben Spencer and Nils Mordt partner each other in the halves to make up a familiar looking Storm half-back pairing. In the midfield, USA Eagle centre Thretton Palamo partners Tom Streather.

In the back three, Ben Ransom will start at full-back with Romanian international Catalin Fercu named on the left wing and the prolific Mike Ellery on the right wing.

Saracens Storm team to face Newcastle A:

15. Ben Ransom; 14. Mike Ellery, 13. Tim Streather, 12. Thretton Palamo, 11. Catalin Fercu; 10. Nils Mordt, 9. Ben Spencer; 1. Richard Barrington, 2. Jared Saunders, 3. Biyi Alo, 4. Maro Itoje ©, 5. Nick de Jager, 6. Hayden Thompson-Stringer, 7. Matt Hankin, 8. Ernst Joubert.

Replacements: 16. Josh Taylor, 17. Jack Culverhouse, 18. Ben Feathertone. 19. Jack Tredrea, 20. Kennett O’Neill, 21. Tom Whiteley, 22. Max Wilkins, 23. George Perkins, 24. Max Malins.

Entry is free for season ticket holders or £10 on the gate. Gates open at 18h30. Follow all of tonight's action on Twitter using the #SarriesLive hashtag.

Share this story