Saracens - Eight Saracens included in England RWC squad

Aug 27, 2015

Eight Saracens included in England RWC squad

Eight Saracens players have been included in England’s 31-man squad for the 2015 Rugby World Cup.

The Aviva Premiership Champions are the most heavily represented Premiership side in Stuart Lancaster’s squad, with Brad Barritt, Owen Farrell, Jamie George, Alex Goode, George Kruis, Billy Vunipola, Mako Vunipola and Richard Wigglesworth all included for the tournament.

Mark McCall: “We’re extremely proud that eight of our players have been included, said the Saracens director of rugby, “to have provided a quarter of the entire squad is brilliant news for the club as a whole. Out of the eight six are under the age of 26, and that is extremely exciting both for England, and for Saracens.

“All of those who have been included have worked incredibly hard, and as a club, we are always delighted to see our players perform on the international stage. I’m sure I share every Saracens fans sentiments when I say that we all wish them luck in the upcoming Rugby World Cup.”

The 31-strong group of 17 forwards and 14 backs – drawn from eight Premiership clubs – will open their campaign against Fiji at Twickenham Stadium on September 18.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: “It’s really positive that we have such depth and options to choose from. Selection wasn’t easy and it is tough to leave anyone out but it’s important to stress that the players not in this group are still part of our wider squad and could come in at any point.

“After 10 weeks in camp we have made our final selection of players and we believe we have a great group to take us into the tournament. With three weeks to go before we play Fiji we believe we are in good shape as we head into next Saturday’s game against Ireland.

"As the excitement builds around the tournament we are looking forward to the country getting behind England and we know this group of players will represent the nation with pride.”

England Rugby World Cup squad


Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints, 10 caps)

Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 51 caps)

Joe Marler (Harlequins, 32 caps)

Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 22 caps)

David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 43 caps)


Jamie George (Saracens, 1 cap)

Rob Webber (Bath Rugby, 13 caps)

Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 23 caps)

Second rows

George Kruis (Saracens, 8 caps)

Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 23 caps)

Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 39 caps)

Geoff Parling (Exeter Chiefs, 24 caps)

Back rows

James Haskell (Wasps, 60 caps)

Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 28 caps)

Chris Robshaw (capt, Harlequins, 38 caps)

Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 18 caps)

Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 37 caps)

Scrum halves

Danny Care (Harlequins, 52 caps)

Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens, 22 caps)

Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 48 caps)

Fly halves

Owen Farrell (Saracens, 30 caps)

George Ford (Bath Rugby, 12 caps)


Brad Barritt (Saracens, 22 caps)

Sam Burgess (Bath Rugby, 1 cap)

Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 12 caps)

Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 1 cap)

Back three

Mike Brown (Harlequins, 38 caps)

Alex Goode (Saracens, 18 caps)

Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 15 caps)

Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 9 caps)

Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 10 caps)

Share this story