Saracens - Team named to face Leicester Tigers

Feb 22, 2013

Team named to face Leicester Tigers

Saracens travel to Welford Road on Saturday night to face Leicester Tigers as the Aviva Premiership reaches round 16, kick off is 8pm.

In team news ahead of the game, Sarries welcome back Chris Wyles and Schalk Brits after missing last week’s 31-11 victory over Exeter Chiefs. Rhys Gill also returns to the front row and Alistair Hargreaves also starts to partner Steve Borthwick in the second row.

The Premiership fixture between these two sides earlier in the season was a tight and tense affair at Wembley Stadium, when nothing could separate the sides in a 9-9 draw.  Saracens sit above their opponents by a solitary point on the league ladder.

In 34 meetings in the Premiership, Saracens have won 11 with Leicester winning 20, there have also been three draws.

Saracens biggest victory at Welford road came in September 2011 when they scored six tries in a memorable 50-25 victory over the East-Midlands giants.

Saracens line-up vs Leicester Tigers

15 Chris Wyles
14 James Short
13 Joel Tomkins
12 Adam Powell
11 David Strettle
10 Charlie Hodgson
9 Richard Wigglesworth
1 Rhys Gill
2 Schalk Brits
3 Matt Stevens
4 Steve Borthwick ©
5 Alistair Hargreaves
6 Jackson Wray
7 Will Fraser
8 Ernst Joubert

16 John Smit
17 Nick Auterac
18 Petrus du Plessis
19 George Kruis
20 Justin Melck
21 Neil de Kock
22 Nils Mordt
23 Duncan Taylor

Share this story