Saracens - Timisoara Saracens lift the Romanian Cup

Dec 01, 2014

Timisoara Saracens lift the Romanian Cup

Timisoara Saracens defeated league champions Baia Mare 19-14 to win the Romanian Cup, for the first time since 2011.

On a rainy evening in the Cluj Arena, it was Baia Mare that were quicker to adjust to the conditions, scoring eight unanswered points in the first 15 minutes.

Timisoara Saracens fought back to reduce the deficit, and took the lead just before the break. Timisoara’s star kicker Valentin Calafeteanu drilled his third penalty of the night in the closing minute of the first half to give Sarries a one point advantage.

Baia Mare came out pumped for the second half, and retook the lead with two penalties, and it was looking as though the league champions would pull ahead as they enjoyed the majority of the possession and territory.

However, Timisoara Saracens stood firm and surged into the lead after a superb bit of play in the corner saw powerful lock forward Valentin Poparlan cross the whitewash. Calafeteanu added the afters and the scoreboard read 16-14 to Sarries.Timisoara continued to exert pressure on their opponents, and won a penalty in the 73rd minute, which was narrowly missed by the almost flawless Calafeteanu. The influential scrum half made amends three minutes later as he slotted his next attempt to give Sarries a five point advantage.

The score was to remain unchanged, and Timisoara Saracens ran out deserved winners 19-14. Baia Mare played their part in an entertaining game in difficult conditions, but it was Timisoara Sarries that lifted the Romanian Cup in front of their travelling fans.

Timisoara Saracens squad: 1. Mihai Țăruș, 2. Eugen Căpățînă, 3. Manasa Saulo Romumu, 4. Valentin Popârlan, 5. Dorin Lazăr, 6. Randall Morrison, 7. Vasile Rus, 8. Stelian Burcea (Captain), 9. Valentin Calafeteanu, 10. Jack Umaga, 11. Viliami Moala, 12. Paula Kinikinilau, 13. Mateo Malupo, 14. Stephen Shennan, 15. Gabriel Conache.

16. Marian Gorcioaia, 17. Gigi Militaru, 18. Samuel Mariș, 19. Marian Drenceanu, 20. Victor Dumitru, 21. Laurentiu Tănase, 22. Jody Rose, 23. Tangimana Fonovai.


Share this story