Saracens - Wasps vs Saracens - Match Preview

Mar 06, 2015

Wasps vs Saracens - Match Preview

Saracens travel to the Ricoh Arena this Sunday to take on Wasps in the Aviva Premiership.

Pre-match talking points

Wasps have only beaten Saracens once in their last ten encounters in all competitions: 20-15 at Twickenham in the London double-header in September 2011.

Saracens lost 18-16 to Munster in the their only previous visit to the Ricoh Arena in the semi-final of the European Cup in April 2008.

Wasps are the only team in the competition to have won all eight home games they have played this season, whilst their four games at Ricoh Arena in Premiership Rugby have all achieved maximum point wins scoring 18 tries and conceding just four.

A single point separates Saracens, lying in second in the table, from Leicester Tigers in sixth. Wasps sit in fourth ahead of the game on Sunday.

Men to watch

Maro Itoje put in a mammoth man of the match performance against Newcastle Falcons last Saturday. The England Saxon is maturing with every performance and it will be another big test for the young forward, as he starts at blindside flanker at the Ricoh Arena.

Saracens v Harlequins - LV= Cup

Alex Goode made the most carries of any player  in the Six Nations last weekend and the England international will be playing his trade at fly-half for Saracens this Sunday against Wasps.

Thomas Young grabbed a brace of tries in Wasps' match against Gloucester last weekend. The back-rower is the son of Wasps director of rugby Dai Young, and showed a mean turn of pace to round Charie Sharples for his second try against Gloucester.

Elliot Daly is in great form for the hosts; the outside centre has scored a try in each of his last three games.

Wasps v Harlequins - Aviva Premiership



1 Mako Vunipola

2 Jamie George

3 Petrus Du Plessis

4 Jim Hamilton

5 Alistair Hargreaves ©

6 Maro Itoje

7 Jacques Burger

8 Jackson Wray

9 Richard Wigglesworth

10 Alex Goode

11 Chris Wyles

12 Brad Barritt

13 Marcelo Bosch

14 Chris Ashton

15 Ben Ransom

16 Jared Saunders

17 Rhys Gill

18 Juan Figallo

19 Ernst Joubert

20 Matt Hankin

21 Ben Spencer

22 Nils Mordt

23 Tim Streather


1 Matt Mullan (c)

2 Tom Lindsay

3 Lorenzo Cittadini

4 Bradley Davies

5 James Gaskell

6 Ashley Johnson

7 Thomas Young

8 Nathan Hughes

9 Joe Simpson

10 Andy Goode

11 Sailosi Tagicakibau

12 James Downey

13 Elliot Daly

14 Christian Wade

15 Rob Miller

16 Simon McIntyre

17 Phil Swainston

18 Kearnan Myall

19. Ed Jackson

20 Guy Thompson

21 Piri Weepu

22 Alex Lozowski

23 Andrea Masi

Share this story